Paper Piecing

Have you ever decided to try a new technique? You know you can do it, but time after time you have to unsew. Well, that’s me and paper piecing. I’ve decided to do the block of the month from The Quilt Show, designed by Sue Garman. Sue recently passed away and for some reason, I feel an obligation to do this one.

I was at a friend’s home yesterday with the ladies from my monthly sewing group. I did the first couple of blocks pretty quickly. On a roll, right? WRONG! Not only did I have to rip out a lot of stitches, but they were dang tiny stitches to boot.

This is how I felt: pulling-hair-out

One of my friends asked me why I was torturing myself. Well, I want to learn how to do this. I’d like to have it in my quilting toolkit. Like Alex Anderson stated in the latest TQS streaming video, “it has its place”. I will conquer this; hopefully I’ll have a block to show you next time.

On a completely different subject, I am working on a challenge-17 UFOs in 2017. I’m going to finish or make progress on 17 projects. And no, doing the BOM shouldn’t take away from that; in fact, maybe it will be # 18!

Have an awesome week! I’m rooting for the Atlanta Falcons in Sunday’s Super Bowl. I just can’t bring myself to cheer for Tom Brady and the Patriots.

Siggie block

Leave a Reply

