Glad to be here

Well, Mom’s 98th birthday passed without much incident. I brought her a big cupcake, only to find that the kitchen had brought up a huge  piece of chocolate cake for her! I thought that was so great.

Unfortunately, I received a letter last week from the group that has purchased Mom’s assisted living facility. Apparently, because she has what’s called a “mechanical diet”, meaning that she has to have thickened liquids and chopped food, she can’t stay at Elant. The administrator and case manager sat down with DH Mike and me, and we went over her records. Mom was tested last month to see whether she is starting to suffer from dementia, and how well she can take care of herself. She scored very high on the test, but it’s the diet………… So now we have to tour new facilities in new towns in the area.

On the quilting front, I’ve gotten a few more client quilts done.

Sorry, they’re not in order. The pink backing with the bunnies goes with the pink, white and gray quilt. Then there’s an Oriental style that came out very cool! The Rail Fence is very dramatic with that dark green, don’t you think? Since I only do edge-to-edge quilting, I challenge myself to come up with  patterns that will work with every quilt that I am privileged to quilt.

So, that’s where I’m at right now. Hopefully, Mom will be settled soon in her new home, and we’ll all get used to a new routine.

Siggie block

 

Leave a Reply

